15
Jun
12

Then and now

Then, I was scared that the topics I studied would not be included in the exam questions
Now, I am scared that the work experience I have right now would not matter in my next
job

Then, I was scared that the power would go off while I tackle the last stages of my Video
Games
Now, I am scared that the power would go off long enough to drain my UPS battery while I
play Computer games

Then, I was scared that Mom would forget to get candies and what-not when she comes home
in the evenings
Now, I am scared of diabetes from eating pretty much whatever I want

Then, I was scared I would not be able to finish my chores on time to enjoy a Saturday
evening
Now, I can’t enjoy a Saturday evening with incomplete errands on my mind

Then, I’d wanted to be an astronaut, pilot, missionary, knight of the round table,
adventurer.. and the list went on
Now, I’d settle for an awesome retirement plan

Then, I was scared of the dark
Now, I am scared of what lurks in it

Then, I couldn’t wait to grow up
Now, I’d give up everything to be a child again

Then, I felt I was smothered with family and affection
Now, I realise how lucky I was

Then, I could run endless miles and back home again
Now, I’m just glad the treadmill stays at the same place

Then, I’d dream about what I’d do when I grow up
Now, I reminisce about how I grew up

Then, Friday evenings were awesome
Now, Friday evening is still awesome!

Then…


3 Responses to “Then and now”


  1. June 24, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    Then I was afraid of getting a job I wouldn’t love, so I never looked for work for a very long time.

    Now I am afraid I am loving my job so much that I am ignoring other important things in life…

    By the way, your post is very similar to my new post too… daymmm where have all the years gone by right?

  2. 2 gkhiangte
    June 25, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    Then I was scared to fall in love,
    Now I am scared to fall out of love
    Then I was a little girl
    Now I am still a little girl who grew up in more ways than one
    Then I was an avid blogger
    Now I am an avid lipstick wearer
    Then I was a fan of your blog
    Now I am….still a fan 🙂

  3. June 26, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    @Kim: “Work while you work, play while you play”, Then, I used to think this line was just a stupid catchy nursery-rhyme-type deal for kids, but Now I realize it means so much more.

    @G: Then I was never lucky in love, but Now I am lucky to be in love.🙂
    Welcome back and ‘nicely done’ on the Avatar.


Leave a Reply

