08
Jun
12

My Worry

He slithers behind my every step
like a shadow, trying to catch me up,
But I cannot allow that.
I tread faster each day,
Always aware that if I pause
He’d overwhelm my spirit and dull my being.

Sometimes I pretend to outrun his grasp
and look far ahead, without glancing back,
I’m joyous for brief moments I’d cherish always.
But, alas, it is short-lived,
for he takes pleasure in reminding me
that we are bounded by chains unbreakable,
chains forged out of relations and emotions,
those that evolve to more complex things with age,
chains that will drag my corpse to the grave.

Each day is an endless battle
but daylight is my ally, I triumph.
I stay ahead without missing a step,
but as night creeps in, when he follows me home,
he lies beside me, I’m too tired to resist,
Nowhere to run, I give in
and sleep a sleepless disturbance.

PS: Hope this post better break my blogger’s block. 1 Year since! WTH!


2 Responses to “My Worry”


  1. 1 aduhi
    June 10, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    Well well well if it isn’t Rip Van Winkle himself, back from wherever he was🙂 The blogging world has missed you.

    I suppose this post is about laziness, procrastination, not stopping for a minute and always changing for the better and all that jazz. Yep, he is always behind us, tempting us to sleep for just five more minutes, to stay up for just one more hour, to do that thing tomorrow, etc etc. Difficult to outrun, hard to outwit, and even harder to say no to. Oh life!!

  2. 2 NotGood
    June 11, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    @Aduhi: It’s actually about how ever much we try and put our worries in the backseat during the day, while we toil and go on with our daily lives, yet at night, when we finally lie still to sleep, it catches up and follow us into our dreams….. but I like your version too!


Leave a Reply

