17
Aug
10

Get the smoke out

Last Sunday night, as I laid down for the night, I started thinking about stuff to try and get me to sleep, but all I could think of was about cigarettes and how much they have affected my life. I woke up Monday morning and read GoldiBlog before work, and that kinda inspired me a lot to try and quit smoking.
I would always say b**s** when a colleague tells me he quit smoking, or is planning to, and it gave me all the more reason to pull his leg. It had always been a joke to me when I hear stuff like that in the office or over the phone. And maybe it was partly because of such attitude they received from people like me that they would always start again. I’m not looking for support, but I’m not looking for temptations either.
Quitting smoking is something that I’ve always wanted to do, but I’ve always put it off for later, maybe for when I get older. Since I’ve become a regular smoker, I’ve never once tried to quit it, simply because I never wanted to. I convinced myself that I don’t smoke as BAD as other people I know, cos’ I was only smoking a pack of 10 a day, while people smoked a pack of 20 in less. It was feeble reassurance, but it did it’s job.
But heavy smoker or not, it slowly affected my health in ways described in detail by Goldbum himself, so I will not go there. But where I WILL go, is an experiment on me. So here it is:
AIM:
To quit smoking, or reduce the frequency drastically to a point where I am no longer considered a smoker by my closest friends. (They are quite the critics in such matters!)
MATERIALS REQUIRED:
1 smoker desperate/bored/<describe yourself in one word> enough to make a lifestyle change.
1 Cigarette for each day
Time and Perseverance
Determination and willingness
<More to be added as and when required by the smoker>
THEORY:
– If I am allowed to have just and only 1 cigarette a day, and I can choose the time, it will eventually be something I look forward to everyday. I will savor that one cigarette, and realise that if I cheat and have another before the day is over, it will never taste as good as that. Smoking a cig and not enjoying it has been what I have been doing all this time and this is to change that.
– As days passes, the urge to smoke would be more difficult to resist. Thats when I will need large amounts of Determination and willingness, without which I will not pass beyond the phase. At this point, I guess the only thing that would keep me going would be the pure ecstasy in that puff from my daily dose of nicotine.
– The next part of the theory is a little vague, for it is difficult to determine as to how long it would take me to get used to the routine. But once accomplished, it would enable me to stretch it to once in 2 days and so on.
– I know this theory may suck, but it’s the best one I’ve got at the moment. I desperately need to setup some ground rules.
OBSTACLES:
– This is my first attempt. So I know I will either go all the way, or reach beyond the half-point only to crash and burn in Mono-oxidic pleasure.
– The second attempt will definitely not follow soon.
– Its definitely easier said that done, but it’s possible, at least I’ve got to believe that.
– I had one smoke today in the evening, and it felt like the first tryst, the tingling, etc. but now as I type this, I have a feeling that I’m not doing something which I usually do, I mean, it made me understand that it had (Past tense.. tralala) become such a habit I sometimes unconciously lit one and finished it even before I realised I’d done it.
– So technically I may not be quitting smoking, but this will be my way of dealing with it. I’m not really worried about withdrawal symptoms, as I will at least have one smoke a day, and with India’s pollution levels, that’s probably less harmful than being a Traffic cop for a day.
PERSONAL GUIDELINES:
– Finish the smoke at one go, not saving it for 2,3,4,5 or 6 gos go’s goes instances of smoking. (Never met another who went more than that!)
– One day at a time. If one day is too long, go with Morning, Noon and Night, or Hour by Hour, or Minute by Minute. Last for one timeframe, then last the next one, then the next.
– Judge and rate my urges based on the scenario.
Need-a-smoke-while-going-to-the-loo-urge : Low
Had-a-fight-with-my-boss-and-now-need-a-smoke-urge : Medium
Just-had-pork-for-dinner-and-need-a-smoke-urge : High
Cute-girl-in-smoking-zone-asking-for-a-light-and-now-need-to-show-her-I-smoke-too-urge : Way-up-there Critical!!
– Save the smoke for the evening, and if I am able to save till bedtime, savor one right before hitting the sack for a sweet dream.
OBSERVATIONS (So far):
– I know it supercalifragilisticexpialidociously early to make observations, but unless I type something I’m afraid I might light one up. (I haven’t thrown away my ashtrays and lighters as most “Quit smoking” guides suggested be done first. Why?? It’s just too early I guess.)
– So the whole day, I didn’t really feel the urge, cos’ I know I smoked enough over the weekend to bring me a few hours closer to death.
– Its funny when you tell people, mostly your smoking partners, that you’ve quit or trying to quit. The first emotion they display is of utter disbelief, then denial, then doubt, then a short hint of pity followed immediately by words of encouragement and support for your cause. Its true. Try it out.
– Its about exactly 24 hrs since I had my last smoke, after which I decided I will have one smoke a day, after which I had a smoke, so, to be precise, its probably 9 hours since I had my last smoke and I’m a mess.
– But, tomorrow will bring a duller day, my only saving grace being that one cigarette I have always Loved to Hate.
– I feel like I am being saved by the Cigarette, before it will kill me… more observations to follow hopefully…

11 Responses to “Get the smoke out”


  1. August 17, 2010 at 4:44 am

    whoa. comPLETE support man! the first time i quit i quit for 9 months then started again as bad as before. am clean for 1 year and 5 months now, and feel *much healthier.

    if my experience is any help- i went back after 9 months (first time) mostly because i was cocky, and ‘just one won’t hurt, i can handle it’. second time round, i used a wall calendar to mark of days (for about 6 months at least), provided a visual and so inspiration. got a severe urge a few months ago, and tried one, but hated the taste so much i haven’t had another urge since.

  2. 2 Shuakshuali
    August 17, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Support to ya and to the Mosifier who inspired you😀
    Been there, done that, FAILED big time.
    We all should set up a Smokers Anonymous group or something, I heard that its easier to quit if you have a quit buddy. And we all should meet up, raise hands, say, “Hi, Im (insert moniker) and Im a smoker.” (Breaks down and sobs.
    Ive tried placing my cigs in hard-to-reach places so that lazy me will shift my lazy ass only when the urge is super strong. It didnt cure my addiction, though I did move my lazy ass around a lot😦
    Neway, good luck!

  3. 3 luliana
    August 19, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Finally succeded after 16 failed attempts😀, am not looking back, am not regretting at all!! So, all the best!!

    Delhi-ah khan vawikhat chu ka u te in a chawlh ka hman laiin nghei ka tum a. A pack a lei lovin a loose in ka lei anga, an awmna kha 3rd floor a ni bawk sia chhuk reng ka peih lo ang a ka nghei mahna, tiin. Teuh lo! Nikhatah vawi 13 te kawngpui ka thleng thla thin😛

  4. 4 NotGood
    August 19, 2010 at 3:43 am

    @Baruk: Thanks for the support. I feel like the urge is never going to subside. I’m just on my third day and its pretty hard. But, I still get one smoke a day and that, although sweet, will hopefully start tasting bitter and I may eventually hate the taste.😛

    @Shuali: I’ve earlier tried reducing the number of smokes per day, but it just kinda increased gradually without you even noticing. I always thought that I wasn’t really addicted to smoking and that I could’ve quit whenever I wanted to, but now I need to do this because I’m starting to doubt myself.. thanks for the support..

    @Luliana: 16 failed attempts!! Ropui hle mai! Zuk tur a om tawh loh hnu, chak a chhuah tak tak lai chuan zanlaiah pawh ka zawng nasa ve thin, mahse a tha ve riau, kan veng hnaiah engtik lai pawhin leina tur ka hre tawh.. hehe.. Hmanni Pune Bandh ni pawh khan chhunah ka thianpa hmuh khat deuh nen kan sikret zawng kan inhmu deuh hlol..😛

  5. August 19, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    smoking…hmmm….I take a few puffs everyday on the royal seat and thats about it but still, the effect it has on my health is palpable…so smoking is def’ly a dangerous ballgame!

  6. August 20, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    lolzzzzz .. just read your QR Code from my new Samsung Galaxy S phone. HAHAHAHA!!!!!! Yeah, geek forever bro!🙂

  7. August 22, 2010 at 1:06 am

    supposedly real answer written by school student..
    Q. Name a major disease associated with cigarettes
    A. Premature death

    i guess quitting smokes is no big joke.. good luck.

  8. August 22, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Meizial bung rim hi khawvela thil rimchhe zingah a tel ve. Hemi vang tal pawh hian quit chu a tha.

  9. 9 NotGood
    August 24, 2010 at 3:13 am

    @Jay-me: I guess the dangers of smoking is why they put those horrid Lung pictures on the covers, while you don’t see them on Beer cans or Wine bottles.😛

    @Kima: ooo.. your new Samsung Galaxy S Phone, running Android OS, v2.1 (Eclair) with Super AMOLED capacitive touchscreen, etc etc.. Age o’ the geeks, baby..😛

    @Blind: Thanks, but its exactly NOT as easy as it seems.😛

    @Aduhi: Dik khawp mai, mahse a truah tawh chuan meizial bung pawh kan zawng ruai tho mai chu anih hi.

  10. 10 Maisek
    August 25, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Good Luck! You’ll need it!

  11. 11 NotGood
    August 28, 2010 at 2:10 am

    @Maisek: Thanks for the good luck… drop by again sometime. Always good to see new visitors.


Leave a Reply

