23
Jul
10

Love is what Love does

I haven’t been inspired enough lately to make any post, it seems whenever I decide to start something, my mind wanders elsewhere. I’ve been a little obsessed with time, space and multiple dimensions, Carl Sagan and the theories he professes… etc etc.. Then I came across Aduhi’s Post and it gave me ample reason to post this followup.
I’m not the most romantic guy, or ‘zei’ or ‘CK’ or… you get my drift. I’ve tried, pretty hard too, but I guess I’m not that type. I was always uncomfortable around the opposite sex, probably still am, not great with the ladies, and even if I do talk to one, I’d probably bore her to death. I don’t know what girls like to talk about.
I’ve read countless magazines where they write that girls like to talk about themselves, you should compliment them, blah blah… never works out if you don’t say it right. A tall, dark and wholesome guy may utter total nonsense and girls would simply swoon and feed on anything that escapes his lips, while in one corner, I would timidly be mumbling something worthwhile, yet be simply overlooked.
But then once in a while, a girl comes along with whom I would feel totally at home with. Uptil now, I’ve met exactly 2 of them. The first recently got married. She was a few years older than me, and it didn’t matter. We weren’t a couple, we were just very good friends. I could talk to her about anything under the sun. She was like an older sis with whom I can discuss anything I can’t with my older sis.
I don’t think I need to elaborate much on the second one. Fifth year along and we’re still great together. We do have arguments, dramatic fights but the patching up is always better than the last.
Years ago, a single me used to think that relationships are as rosy and beautiful as the ones you’d see on hollywood flicks. A world where as long as two people love each other, the universe would fall into place and everything would work out for them. That’s partly true, but they forgot the fine print, the part where there would be hardships to endure, doubts to do away with, temptations to face and bad memories to share before they get to the happy ending.
I used to have a list back then, but now, that list has become pretty redundant. I guess when you love someone, its not the things that you love about them, but rather the little things they do which makes you mad that makes you love them so much more. I know, it sounds mushy-gushy, but I can’t put it in words better than that.
AND, Mr.Sandman is probably right about guys blogging anything remotely related to their girl, if you’re a guy, that is. I’d probably be ecstatic if she blogs about anything I do, be it the last time I woke up and didn’t know where I was, or the time I went for a concert and didn’t remember enough to give a report, or the time… and that one time when.. doesn’t matter what.
BUT, for the record, here is my list:
1. Loving
2. Cooks pork better than I do
3. Beautiful
4. Independent
5. Respected by peers
6. Hard working
7. Loves animals
8. Stylish and smells nice
9. Loves her mom
10. Laughs on SouthPark🙂

9 Responses to “Love is what Love does”


  1. 1 Shuakshuali
    July 23, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    AAaaannnd Great Post!!
    “there would be hardships to endure, doubts to do away with, temptations to face and bad memories to share before they get to the happy ending”.

    Nope, youre not just mumblin something worthwhile in a corner and being overlooked. “R” be the one😀

  2. July 25, 2010 at 12:03 am

    I thought it was the guys who liked to talk about themselves, at least that’s what I read in magazines. I guess we must have read different literature🙂
    Good list. I hope she has all those qualities, else you know what could happen😛

  3. 3 NotGood
    July 29, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    @Shuali: AAaaaannddd thanks for the support!

    @Aduhi: Maybe I should stop believing everything I read in the papers, especially the last 3 pages..😛 And she has all the qualities I’ve listed, why else would I post them.. hehe.. Thanks again for curing my “blogger’s” block, now I have a couple lined up, but still working on the conclusions..

  4. July 29, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Are you really a guy?i mean, after this post, I am seriously suspecting your sex lol but hey! Its’s a compliment!No guy would ever write romantic stuff esp. abt their gfs. While 99% of the male order dictates that love and anything related to it are all trivial and female-obsessions, what you’ve listed out shows that a tiny fragment of your lot including you(and excluding vaivutpa) are not hesitant nor embarrassed to admit that you love falling in love..er..well even if you are, at least you are gentlemanly enough to acknowledge your affections for your girl. Yours is the kinda quality any bf should have and if a certain someone is reading this- “Real men fall in love and celebrate the feelings it brings” hehe and oh! btw, no strings attached, i bite anyway!

  5. July 29, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    Great post bro. Here’s to MEN POWER.😀 lolz @ Jay Me. Yeah I too hope a certain someone comes by and read what you’ve written. And 99% is a bit off my dear. Its just that, not many spill it our on blogs. You need to explore our kind more😛

    @ Aduhi: Well in that case, judging from all the p*rn we have watched, women want only one thing – Sex with a guy who has a huge one😛

  6. August 3, 2010 at 12:31 am

    ih mo..i’d like to follow you only I dont know how…again no harm intended.

  7. 7 NotGood
    August 3, 2010 at 2:06 am

    @Jay-me: I actually had to think for a moment to figure out who “vaivutpa” was.. hehe.. And I most certainly am a guy, “vaivutpa” can vouch for that! (OK enuff with the vaivutpa.) I would consider your comment as half insult and half compliment, so😐
    About the following part, I think “vaivutpa” (there it is again!) would be able to help you better, don’t have the hang of RSS Feeds etc.. or just add me to your blogroll as blogspot automatically arranges them according to the last updated content anyway.. Thanks for visiting, keep comin back.

    @vaivutpa (I think I just overdid it!): Thanks dude, but lets not to start a gender war, don’t wanna be single again.😛 To truly understand women, men have to search deep within their hearts for that one safe place, crack open a cold one and slowly sip it while watching your fav. programme on tv. hehe

  8. 8 Zonu
    August 4, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    I’m impressed!Checked some of your older blogs and found out we were born on the same day.Good luck with the relationship.But no,girls don’t swoon over goodlooking guys who utter nonsense.For a couple of minutes maybe,but no brain=no charm.At least that’s how it is for me.

  9. 9 NotGood
    August 5, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    @Zonu: Thank you and thanks for dropping by. New readers are always welcome. I’m not sure which post I mentioned my Bday, but glad to meet another Geminian, apparently we are a dying breed.. hehe.. And if you do swoon over goodlooking guys who utter nonsense, for a couple of minutes.. doesn’t that serve their purpose? I mean “first impression is the last impression”.. etc etc..?😛
    Do come back again..


Leave a Reply

