13
May
10

Jailbreaking the iPhone

How I Jailbroke my iPhone and installed full versions of free PIRATED apps using Wi-fi:

Disclaimer:

Firstly, The below mentioned steps are what I have personally performed on my phone and although I am sure they would work 99.99% of the time, please make sure to backup your phone using iTunes to have the option of restoring it, Just in case.

Secondly, I am not responsible for any tragedy that may befall your iPhone should things go wrong. So proceed at your own risk.

Thirdly, make sure you have the latest version of iTunes running and update the iPhone software to the latest available. At the time I performed these steps, I had OS 3.1.3 on my phone.

And Lastly, all images and links are used without permission, and if any of them are your copyrighted material, please, please don’t sue me.🙂

I exchanged my phone with sis, iPhone for Corby Pro, not a bad deal. It wasn’t just because I badly wanted the iPhone, but seeing it being used to make and take calls, browse the internet and take pictures was kinda painful, considering the vast possibilities that IS the iPhone. So, barely a week after I first laid my hands on it, I bring you this:

There are 4 steps to jailbreaking the iPhone and installing free Apps, so I have explained them in as much detail as possible with screenshots, hope it helps:

1. Jailbreak iPhone using Spirit (This automatically installs Cydia as an App on the phone)
– Download Spirit for your OS from the link :  http://spiritjb.com/
– Connect the iPhone to your computer with the USB cable and once it is detected, launch Spirit from the PC
– If you are using Windows Vista or above, make sure to change the Compatibility mode of Spirit.exe to Windows98/ME mode by right-clicking it, then click Properties>Compatibility:
– Also, to launch Spirit.exe, right-click and select Run as Administrator.
– You would get a screen that looks something like this: (The screenshot is for iPad, but it’s more or less the same!)
– Click on “Jailbreak” button and after a few minutes, you will get a “Jailbreak Succeeded” screen:
– You may click on “Quit” to close Spirit on the  PC, in the meanwhile, your iPhone will restart automatically.
– Once Booted up, you will get the Cydia icon in your App list like so:
Note:
* Beyond this point, the iPhone requires to be connected to a Wifi internet connection.
* Also, before you proceed to start installing any App using Cydia, be sure to install at least one App from the Apple AppStore, whether Free or Paid does not matter. You will get an error when opening Cydia unless you have done this.

2. Add http://cydia.hackulo.us as a source in Cydia
– Open Cydia from the iPhone and you will get a similar screen
– Click on the “Manage” option at the bottom and you will see the following screen.
– Click “Sources” and once opened, you will get an option to “ADD” a source from the Edit option
– Add the link http://cydia.hackulo.us”, this will throw a “Moral” disclaimer, but if you’ve come this far, I don’t think there’s any turning back.😛
– Once added, you will get “Hackulo.us” in the Source list
3. Install Installous
– Click on the “Hackulo.us” source and look for Installous
– Select the option to install the App
– Once installed, you will get the Installous icon in your App list
4. Install cracked Apps using Installous
On opening Installous, you will get a menu similar to that of the Apple AppStore where apps are categorized. You can search for apps or simply install whatever you want.
– Installous uses free file-sharing websites (Rapidshare/Mediafire/AppScene, etc) to download and install cracked IPA files, hence some links may require you to wait for a few seconds for the download link, some may require you to enter Characters for security, and yet others may not work at all, but then again, not all Torrent files work either, right.
– Pirates can’t be choosers!😛
– I haven’t gotten around to getting the screen-shots on how to use Installous, but if required, I shall post them soon enough.
– There are other guides on how to manually download the cracked IPA files and install it on the iPhone using USB cable without the need for a WiFi connection, haven’t explored that feature as yet. This works fine for me.
– Also, if you ARE able to make use of this guide, please do let me know.
References:

5 Responses to “Jailbreaking the iPhone”


  1. May 13, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    while i am no i-phone enthusiast (oddly enough, was part of the launch in india, LMAO) any talk of breaking has me hooked. wish you all the best apps!

  2. 2 Shuakshuali
    May 15, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    ……
    Am lost.

    …..
    Am still lost.


    Techno-hazard that I am, I think its best if i steer clear of posts like these. I bet I can disable all ur jailbroked apps just by glancing at em

  3. 3 NotGood
    May 17, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    @Fed: Thanks for the best wishes😛, now all I need to figure out is how to get iTunes to agree with me. I tried syncing a playlist I had created, and ended up losing all the songs which were already on the phone.. needs some more googling..

    @Ku2: Don’t be so hard on yourself, technology is for anyone who wants to learn it bad enuff, you just have to take out some of your facebook-time😛

  4. 4 Mos
    May 18, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    huh big deal iPhone. All I need a phone for is to make calls and receive calls and text and stuff. Wow these grapes are sour!😀

  5. 5 NotGood
    May 21, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    @mos: Cheer up dude, considering the rate at which technology updates itself, cellphones will soon give way to something simply called IT which will be an all-in-all device. You will be able to do everything you want with it, and other things you don’t want to do too. It will be so advanced that it will have its own IT, which will have yet its own IT, which will have its own IT, which will…


Leave a Reply

