10
Apr
10

Suffocated (Random Posts IV)

– Governments. They become an embodiment of the very Powers they once tried to overthrow. Their words are empty, their promises weak. In the desert, they lead you to the water, then make you fetch it to quench their thirst, while watching you slowly wither away in the scorching heat.

– Sometimes, the easiest way to lose something is to want it too badly.

– The summer heat is getting to my head. Promises of rain with the humidity, yet none, not even a drizzle.

– Is being religious the same as being spiritual? Cos’ I don’t know the difference anymore. How can the Church justify eagerly accepting the Black Money in their overflowing coffers from corrupt officials everyone knows so well, yet are too scared to speak out against lest they be stigmatized! How does it justify supporting Missionaries with the same money used to deprive the poor of their daily bread? Does not that make us as un-Godly as the mass we are trying to convert? What gives us the right to be this self-righteous?

– If sex is so taboo, why are there so many unwed mothers, teen pregnancies and Tv.Pathlawis in Mizoram? Why is the cost of a “bastard” (NOI) still 30rs, when cellphones don’t come cheaper than 1000rs? Are we still clinging to the medieval perception that women are still below men? Sure, you have examples of women failing their duties as wives, but don’t you have more examples of men failing to be the MAN they are supposed to be? Yet your woman would stand behind you no matter what! Would you do the same for her?

– Music Videos. Why does every Tommy, Dicky and Harrietta think they sing better on video than on LIVE! It’s sad. Advice: If you don’t sound nice LIVE, you don’t sound good at all. Trust me,  cos’ I didn’t make a Music Video, did I? And if you think showing some skin on video is gonna help, well, you’re so goddamn wrong. I mean, It’s Mizoram for Chrissake, the more you show, the less you’re seen. Sure, some desperate souls may be callin’ the number over and over after dark, but there’s more of day than night back home! Get over it, esp. that chick with the nose-ring, who poses a lot in her video, in mini’s, don’t remember the song, but who does, right!!

– And unless you’re comfortable with your relation with the Almighty, don’t dare sing Gospel songs. My generation has seen an example in Amy Grant, who went on to sing love songs after being famous for singing Gospel.

Blackestred: How did that work for you, Amy?

Amy: Not so great, no self-respecting Christian would buy my album.

Blaclkestred: How does that affect your career as a musician?

Amy: Well, majority of my audiences were Christians.. blahblahblah!

Blackestred: Well, Amy, I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. We love our heroes, but we love more to see them fall!

(End of imaginary interview with Amy!)

– Lastly, Sis is getting married on 30th April. Going home for the same. I’ve been on a diet for the past few weeks and I’d give anything for deep fried alu, damn! I’ve lost 2 inches off my waist (Didn’t think there’d be that much to lose anyway!)  Bought me a suit which fitted fine on the top, but had to increase the waist on the bottom. NOT embarrassing at the store! Hopefully next is my turn.. hehehe… unless li’l sis elopes with some Emo guy, which, hopefully, is a remote possibility!

– Cheers to all my readers!

PS:

“Call me superstitious but…” I just saw this again today, and it reminded me how far I’ve come. Thanks again to all who take this detour on their quest for Virtual Hilarity and Dis-enlightenment!




9 Responses to “Suffocated (Random Posts IV)”


  1. April 10, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Grinnn, Blackie.., Does the Rodz know u’re gettin ready to shackle her? Innei toh ruuuu, we’ll be there with lotsa naughty gifts😀
    And life’s too short to forgo alu. So what if your waist gets a lil’ thick? She still loves ya, but take care u don’t get man-boobs :p
    Dont get me started on govts. Power corrupts, is all.
    Know some gospel singers who shout that they are ‘sanctified virgins’, but are soooo not. am not judging them on their sexual lives, but on the disparity between their public and personal personas.
    And lastly, if u do decide to tie the knot, remember, it takes more than bringing home a fat paycheck to make you the man of the house. But maybe thiannu wont have problems with u on that score. U seem to have a good head on ur shoulders😀
    NEI VAT RAWHHH

  2. April 10, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Hmm… didn’t know you were quite the feminist. As for religion and spirituality – I believe in God. I believe in the power of prayer. But I don’t believe in religion as it stands today (!). People seem to worship religion instead of God. In other words, just like other cultures have ‘idol worship’, back home we have a form of ‘system worship’ whereby we worship the system and not the purpose of the system… that’s what I think anyway. And yes it’s awfully hot.

  3. April 13, 2010 at 11:37 am

    yes yes yes.. I agree with all your random thoughts. And Shuakshuali up there, trying to force you into something eh?hehe.. Anmahni pawh innei ve tawh se tirawww.. btw, Hi to Rodz😀

  4. 4 NotGood
    April 13, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    @Shuali: I was thinking of a good comeback reply to your comment.. for a couple of days (I’m bad in arguments. I can’t talk my way out of anything, even if my life depends on it! I can probably write myself out of it, but talk?? Naaa!) and finally Mimi provided me just that. Why don’t YOU guys get hitched instead? tralalalala! And as the great Eric Cartman used to say “I’m not fat, I’m just big boned”. Thanks for the “good head on my shoulders” thing.. m trying to live up to that expectation.

    @Andy: Is it Feminism or Equality? Its the 21st Century and there is need for taking responsibility. You get a girl pregnant without marrying her, you’ve gotta pay for it! And I don’t mean 30 bucks, or money, for that matter. It’s your kid and you’ve gotta MAN UP and be the Father it needs you to be.
    I agree with your views. I think it’s silly that people who are regular church-goers think they have the right to judge others who don’t, after all, we are all sinners, aren’t we?

    @Mimi: Thanks for the support.. I guess you guys were really tight back then, huh?

  5. April 13, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    he hee video overload…
    Live performances… yea i guess it’s the real test.. our artists back home dont do it ..or use the technology as yet.. but now Auto Tune technology is pretty much popular to guarantee a flawless live vocal performance…. and of course lip sync..in the west …esp by ‘pop’ star[lets..]

    nice 6,666 }:-) ….

    “unless you’re comfortable with your relation with the Almighty, don’t dare sing Gospel songs”
    ..Amen

  6. 6 jerusha
    April 15, 2010 at 9:59 am

    hahah ‘chick with the nose ring’ – not sure if she has the nose ring, but the video that immediately sprang to mind was this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K-IPTMlgv_o&feature=related. She the one you meant? She definitely is working the minis (or trying to :D).

    Mizoram ah bialnu te thian te awm kim vek lai loh chuan inneih loh tur nia aw!

  7. April 15, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    “Sometimes, the easiest way to lose something is to want it too badly.” Amen.

    hehe, the wedding sounds great.🙂

  8. 8 makima
    April 15, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    wedding chu awm ve a chakom khop mai. but none of my suits fit anymore. these things shrink a lot😦

    u hma-i chu the first bride from banglapui i think. kan chhung chu kan contri ve talo a ni. naupang ho nuam an ti ngot ang. inneihnaa ka kal lohna a rei tawh. the last marriage i went to was in mangalore, the previous 3 in kerela. lawi ar ruk tur a vang khop mai

  9. 9 NotGood
    April 16, 2010 at 12:52 am

    @Blind: Yep. I guess nothing can damage the reputation of artists who give impressive Live vocal performances, it tugs the heart strings deeper than any booty-shakin’, scantily-clad vocalists.

    @Jerusha: Eggjhaklee! How did you get that video so quick, is it because you are such a big fan that you have it in your Favorites? hehe.. And it definitely looks like a nose-ring, that or she has an awkwardly big mole right where a nose-ring should be!
    And I will definitely keep that suggestion in mind!😀

    @Kima: What can I say! I bet of all the Mizos I know, you must have had the largest collection of .25/.50/1/2/5 Rupee coins, but on the brighter side, I know less people in real life than the number of people who visit your blog!😛

    @Makima: If your suit shrinks, you’d better shrink with it. If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em!😛
    Marinmoii pawh a neih ve trep tawh kha, mahse ka awm hman lovang, nang I han haw chho ve zawk tawh anga.. heh. Suit bak hawn vak ngai lo bawk a…. etc.😀


Leave a Reply

