13
Mar
10

Chains

I am bounded in chains, dying to break free, yet sacred if I might.

These chains are what defines who I am and where I am going.

Some chains are bounded to my body, restricting movement in the physical dimension.

Others are bounded to my heart, tearing down my guilt each time I make a wrong move.

Still yet, others are bounded with those around me, we move as one, or we don’t move at all.

These chains don’t break easy, and cause hurt when they are broken.

Some hurt more, and some hurt less, some heal over time, and some never does.

Some makes you wish you’d want to die, while some are pleasant in a painful way. (or painful in a pleasant way!)

The chains that bind my heart is weak, but hurts much more when I tend to falter ,

Which makes it that much harder to break, even if the want is grave.

I hate these chains, yet I am nothing without them, an uncivilized being,

I yearn for freedom, but the chains would question me “What, indeed, is freedom?

Isn’t Free Choice the ultimate freedom? Don’t you have Free Speech to voice your heart?”

“Yet Free Action is in the hands of the Powerful!” I retorted, “Shouldn’t that be the Ultimate Freedom?”

And I could feel the pain pulsating, at every interval the blood rushes through my veins.

I braved the pain, I ripped the chains off my body, screaming silently in excruciating agony,

I tore off the ones that cradled my heart, a tattered bloody organ was what’s left,

Carefully removing the last few chains that had confined me to my world, lest I cause others discomfort,

I finally broke free from the chains, but now shunned away, for I was unlike any other,

Is this the price of freedom? Pain before and solitude after? I looked back in history… and wondered..


8 Responses to “Chains”


  1. 1 shuakshuali
    March 13, 2010 at 8:46 pm

    What if the ‘free’ choices we make hurt someone we love? Can we really take that step? Of course, we say that love means letting go, setting free.. But it also means that some doors will be closed to us when we take that step. So, would we still call that freedom?

    Looking back at history, the pursuit of freedom has wrought pain, bloodshed, death.. and the factions that fought for it have merely cast off one set of chains and replaced them with another. So, I don’t think complete and utter freedom is possible. You’d have to be a hermit for that. And if you find yourself in need of companionship, your yearning for freedom itself is going to restrict you anyway.. Hence, freedom = not gonna happen, sorry.

  2. March 14, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    Hmm… it’s interesting when you get to read this and you wonder what exactly could be the ‘chains’ that you are referring to – you sorta get the idea yes, but then it becomes quite a challenge to actually define it… could it be society – or to be more precise the various cultural institutions that constitute society? What was on your mind when you wrote this? (If I may ask!)

    Secondly, on the question of ‘freedom’. It appears to me you yearn for ‘freedom’ because you see faults with the ‘system’ and you want to break free from it. In that regard, I admire your mental resolve. I on the other hand tend to think of things as such – if you’re a great singer, taking part in a choir, and you know that you sing better than everyone else in that choir – it’s no use singing in a higher tone than the rest just to get their attention that you’re a better singer – they’ll just resent you. However, if you stick to the collective tone, whether you like it or not, they will start noticing over time that you are a better singer than the lot of ’em. Moral: Sometimes trying to change the system externally might be futile… sometimes changing the system from within the system itself is the right way to go! Ngaihtuah peihte tan ni tawh mai rawh se…

    It’s a wonderfully written passage.

  3. 3 NotGood
    March 15, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    @Shuali: It kinda sucks when you think of freedom that way, doesn’t it? I guess to have absolute freedom is to become a Hermit, as you put it, or maybe a Hobo (See the movie “Into the wild”). Yet either way, you would still need to abide by certain laws that govern you. So, in a way, freedom would be to return to being a wild animal. Maybe that’s why Wild Horses are so friggin’ beautiful.

    @Andy: I guess the chains can be anything that prevents you from doing what you REALLY wanna do, and I mean REALLY! Physical limitations, written and unwritten rules about life and matters of the heart, these are what binds us.. And what was on my mind? Well.. can’t really say for sure, it was simply a fusion of all these thoughts.
    “..if you stick to the collective tone, whether you like it or not..” My point exactly, living in a world bounded by rules, we are necessitated to conformity, and that, I guess, is what civilization achieves.
    “..sometimes changing the system from within the system itself is the right way to go!” I watched both parts of Che(2008) over the weekend and its hard to disagree with him when he says a Revolution without bloodshed is never a successful one. Thanks for the positive feedback, btw!

  4. March 16, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Ah yes, the chains of Symantec. I totally understand you, bro.🙂

  5. March 19, 2010 at 1:55 am

    “I guess the chains can be anything that prevents you from doing what you REALLY wanna do, and I mean REALLY!”

    the comparison i can’t help but draw then is to the moth in the cocoon. a painful transition, but one that *helps your ultimate dream.

  6. 6 NotGood
    March 23, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    @Kima: Exacto!

    @Baruk: Not exactly the comparison I was looking for, but ok! I guess anything that holds us back would be our own chains, maybe most times, its simply us. Now, what I’d REALLY REALLY wanna do is simply lie down on a fresh green meadow and watch the clouds roll by, listening to the sounds of nature, every single day, caring for nothing else in the world, and maybe die there. Not that I’m lazy, but I guess what I really I yearn for is one break too many from my overwhelming responsibilities as an adult.

  7. March 26, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Well, freedom doesn’t come cheap, as your text shows. It can hurt an can be hard to handle. So, i guess the level of freedom we need and can handle would differ from person to person. And i doubt there is such a thing as absolute freedom.

  8. 8 NotGood
    March 26, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    @Mesjay: Freedom is indeed never free. Freedom is power, and power corrupts, so I guess there is no such thing as absolute freedom, but suppose there is, then that would be perfection, the virtue of the Gods. Maybe death is the only true Freedom.


Leave a Reply

