06
Nov
09

On sickness

I had a bad week, not that Monday started bad but it was Tuesday that messed me up. Got up on that morning on the superlative WRONG side of bed, with certain gurgling sound coming from within my bowels, a backache and severe stomach pain, topped off with a slight fever that left me nauseated. I had never felt so vulnerable.

I’d always thought I was “unbreakable”, like when Marshall stubbed his toe in How I met Your Mother, not because I have always followed a strict healthy diet or habit or anything, but simply because I don’t really remember the last time I was sick. Sure, I’ve had a few bad days now and then, but nothing a hot bath and some fresh air didn’t fix. But this time, it seemed serious.

I went to the office anyway, and it sucked. I had a hard time sitting cos’ of the backache, the AC didn’t help my fever much and I was mostly  halfway between my desk and the restroom, wondering whether the anal pressure was for real this time or not. After half the day was done, I felt really weak and more sick. I left early for the day and slept as soon as I reached home.

I  woke up around 7 in the evening, not feeling any better. I’d always thought I could overcome my sickness by willing myself, just pretend I’m feeling all OK. It seemed to work pretty well for me, until now. I threw on my joggers and went for a long walk in the neighborhood, something I haven’t done in a while. Grabbed a can of RedBull on the way (which does work when you’re really drained!), acted like it was a saturday and had some Momos at the local Chinese joint. My back was killing me by then, but I didn’t let that bother me. By the time I got back, I had to get one of those pain-sprays for my back.

On Wednesday, I still managed to drag myself to work, the backache was gone, but my fever and bowels were having a grand party inside my body, and I wasn’t invited. I wrapped up my pending work and left after exactly 2 hrs. (Which seemed like an eternity in sick-time!). By this time, all my theories about my body were slowing packing their bags to leave for neverland, but hopefully not forever. They can come visit me during the holidays, its always nice to have familiar faces.

So finally, by wednesday evening, I decided to see…. a DOCTOR. OK. So heres, the deal. No disrespect meant, but I just find it hard extremely hard to trust doctors outside Mizoram. I know that sounds kinda racist and immature, but I have my reasons. That’s probably why I haven’t been “sick” all these years. This would be my fist time seeing a doctor ever since I landed on the dusty streets of Pune. I had a tough time swallowing those tablets tho’, I hate medicines, but thats another story.

Well, my little peeve was apparently crushed beyond recognition as I woke up to a be-yooo-tiful Thursday, feeling fit and fine and ready to dine. Ah.. the power of medicine. That’s something I wouldn’t mess around with until abso-effing-lutely necessary. So, here I am tapping away on my keyboard on a Friday, all chirpy and ready to spend another blurry weekend. Feeling good has never felt this good. It’s great.. just to be alive!


7 Responses to “On sickness”


  1. November 6, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    Good to know you are up and running again. It is only when we fall sick that we realise how lucky we are to be able to wake up each morning without any illnesses and head off to work, and yet we complain and grumble to every person who would care to listen.

  2. November 11, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    i really must try this Red Bull drink…wing giving?… and i do agree on the not messing around with until absolutely necessary .. medicine intake.

  3. 3 NotGood
    November 11, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    @Aduhi: Thanks.. and yes, having the energy and health to get up each day and go to work is plain ironic, isn’t it? hehe.. And its always nice to have something to complain about work, about how sick we are, about how we plan to make use of the next weekend, etc., I mean, what else would we talk about in the smoking zone?😛

    @Blind: Red Bull does give you energy when you’re feeling really drained, but I kinda experimented the other day and found the same power in a really really strong brew of thick, black and bitter espresso.😛 Afterall, caffeine is the primary ingredient..

  4. November 14, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    I warned you so many times. Always drink lotsssss of water after having that full bottle of rum.
    🙂

  5. November 16, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Congrats on the recovery! Hope you keep fit he rest of the year.

  6. 6 Jerusha
    November 19, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Good to know you’re feeling fine now! It’s the season of the germs I swearer. They’ll attack any vulnerable body part they can find. I’m trying to breathe through mucus clogged windpipes as I’m typing this, I’ve been trying to shake a very persistent cold for over a week now but they don’t seem to want to leave me alone :((

  7. 7 NotGood
    November 20, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    @Kima: Genius!! Howd’ja know I was a rum guy!😀

    @Mesjay: Thanks for the wishes! Keeping “fit” may be a problem, :p but keeping Healthy, now that’s realizable.

    @Jerusha: Its probably the flu season. Any slight change in the weather and germs are knocking at your door. Keep healthy. It might not hurt to see that cute Ewan McGregor lookalike Doctor you’ve always stalked from afar.. hehe..


Leave a Reply

