06
Aug
09

50. SWINE FLU ALERT!

This is my 50th Post, hence the number before the Title. I thought I’d make it personal with a nostalgic post about how I started the blog, how I’ve tried to keep updating regularly and blah blah blah… who cares! Lets do something else !

SWINE FLU

With the city being the one with the most confirmed Swine Flu cases in the country, and the unfortunate death of a little girl from the virus, there seem to be no initiative taken yet by the Civic Authorities in regard to the education of the masses and prevention of further spread. Apart from the usual “CAUTION” and “IMPORTANT” Emails from the Management, I personally don’t know much about the flu. Got an SMS from home to cover my mouth and wash my hands regularly, not sure if that’s going to help.

So, I referred to the most extensive, inexpensive and frighteningly prompt and accurate source of all the world’s information, GOOGLE. It seems that there is a mixed feeling as to how the Virus has been projected by the media and how some people think others are over-reacting while others are under-reacting (If there is ever such a thing).

But gossips and rumors apart, here are some of the information I found out:

Symptoms:

Like seasonal flu, symptoms of swine flu infections can include:

  • fever, which is usually high, but unlike seasonal flu, is sometimes absent
  • cough
  • runny nose or stuffy nose
  • sore throat
  • body aches
  • headache
  • chills
  • fatigue or tiredness, which can be extreme
  • diarrhea and vomiting, sometimes, but more commonly seen than with seasonal flu

Serious Symptoms:

More serious symptoms that would indicate that a child with swine flu would need urgent medical attention include:

  • Fast breathing or trouble breathing
  • Bluish or gray skin color
  • Not drinking enough fluids
  • Severe or persistent vomiting
  • Not waking up or not interacting
  • Being so irritable that the child does not want to be held
  • Flu-like symptoms improve but then return with fever and worse cough

High-risk groups:

  • pregnant women
  • people with chronic medical problems, such as chronic lung disease, like asthma, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and immunosuppression
  • children and adults with obesity

Need – to – know:

  • Swine flu likely spreads by direct contact with respiratory secretions of someone that is sick with swine flu, like if they were coughing and sneezing close to you.
  • People with swine flu are likely contagious for one day before and up to seven days after they began to get sick with swine flu symptoms.
  • Droplets from a cough or sneeze can also contaminate surfaces, such as a doorknob, drinking glass, or kitchen counter, although these germs likely don’t survive for more than a few hours.
  • Anti-flu medications, including Tamiflu (oseltamivir) and Relenza (zanamivir), are available to prevent and treat swine flu.

Reference:  http://pediatrics.about.com/od/swineflu/a/409_symptoms.htm

Having done all that, I felt I have gained at least some knowledge about the virus and the ways and means of preventing it. Sometimes, in our big, huge country, our attention hungry-media (No offense to anyone tho’) tend to overexagerrate small issues, making mountains out of molehills, or anthills for that matter. They don’t mind drawing emotions from the masses by witholding the truth and telling half-lies for dramatic effect so they may gain more viewership, etc etc.

Sometimes, we have to stop staring at the TV/Newspapers and find out for ourselves what the REAL deal is. We just can’t believe whatever we hear or see while we sit idly in our living rooms. I guess we need to start searching for answers ourselves so that we may find what we believe, and not the other way round.

And with that thought in mind, I got back to my cooking of fresh and delicious Pork from Shivaji Market, boiled with a paste of ginger and garlic, salt to taste and a large cut-up piece of cabbage. I thank my stars Swine Flu don’t spread by consuming swine.


12 Responses to “50. SWINE FLU ALERT!”


  1. 1 Calliopia
    August 6, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    I thought swine flu was contacted by eating pork until I was put wise to it by a certain someone. I’ve been having all the symptoms of the first group – fever, cough, runny nose, sore throat, head and body aches, and extreme fatigue but with no known cases of swine flu out here, it’s apparently just seasonal flu – touch wood. Thanks for your edifying post. Been a bit concerned with all the panic on TV.

  2. 2 ruolngulworld
    August 6, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    hey, congratulations on your 50th posting. i’ve been around for quite a while and i haven’t reached 50 yet. posting-wise and year-wise🙂 but i should be there, soon, one way or the other, God-willing.

  3. August 6, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    And I was wondering why the title was prefixed with a 50. I’d thought there were 50 new cases of swine flu🙂 Congratulation on the half century. Keep batting.

  4. 4 mesjay
    August 7, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    I have several of the symptoms very often. Hope one needs to check only if one gets all of them😉

  5. August 7, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    when i flew home last month i contracted a fever AFTER stepping off the plane in calcutta. I was afraid that it would be swine flu but when i reached azl i had myself checked at your hospital😀 and i was diagnosed with plain fever😀 whew.

  6. 6 NotGood
    August 7, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    @Calliopia: I’ve checked with a “very reliable” source and he said that its more common in children, so I guess we can all breathe easy…😉

    @Ruolngul: Thanks for the wishes.. haven’t seen an update on your blog in a while.. hope its coming soon..

    @Aduhi: Thanks again… never thought I’d had this much crap in me when I’d started out, but here I am, 50 craps old!😛

    @Mesjay: If you’re going to wait till you get all the symptoms, you might as well get a check up done right away.. Lolzz.. but as I said, its more common in kids, so I guess the blogging community don’t have too much to worry about. (No offense to anyone).. Just keep off huge crowds, malls, movie halls, etc.. Simply put, stay at home and pamper yourself..😀

    @KH-Amos-H: You don’t want the honor of being the “Guy-who-brought-Swine-Flu-to-Aizawl”, cos it seems the “Guy-who-brought-Swine-Flu-to-India” is pretty famous in Delhi, or so I’ve read in the papers.. You just can’t trust anything you read these days.. thats why I’ve stopped my Newspaper subscription, I read my palm instead!

  7. August 8, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Well, I’m currently staying right next to the epicenter of Swine Flu cases in India – Pune. And the number of detected cases in Mumbai are skyrocketing faster than the Sensex on its best day.
    😦 Fingers crossed. I already saw many people with masks on over here.

  8. 8 luliana
    August 9, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    The media is just blowing things out of proportion. Just a few positive cases and its all complete chaos. I would be more concerned about malaria, neonatal asphyxia etc etc which causes hundreds of deaths every day in this very same country.

    Congrats, btw…

  9. August 9, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Congrats for the 50th post on your blog and what a way to go by posting about Pork..Pork is Good :)…. well pork and flu.. flu is bad… and yes good on you for spreading awareness like this.. and seems like youre a good cook too… and yes cabbage is great when antram is not available…

  10. 10 NotGood
    August 10, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    @KIM-berly: I went out on sat evening after a hard weeks work, and was surprised to see almost everyone wearing masks. I was like “Damn, where the hell had I been all this time!” The streets look like a scene from Micheal Crichton’s Outbreak or sumthin..

    @La-la-la-Lu-liana: I agree. The Indian media is known for blowing things out of proportion. There’s even a news channel that has BREAKING NEWS 24/7/365(1/4).. hehe.. Although prevention is indeed better than the cure, sometimes, we need to filter the news we come across each day.. and I agree that there are other threats which are more serious, like malaria, but we don’t see people walking around with mosquito coils all day, do we!

    @Dayzy-bones: Thanks.. its tough trying to figure what to post next.. Who am I kidding.. I have more crap to post than the next blogger who has crap to post.. and YES, I like cooking, I cook to relax and ease my mind off stuff like thinking what to post next on my blog.. ANTRAM is actually available here in Pune, grown by Mizos who stay in Spicer college.. Pretty big ones too, and cheap!😛

  11. August 10, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    I have to thank you.. it was very insightful..🙂

  12. 12 NotGood
    August 12, 2009 at 1:37 am

    @Ritz: You’re most welcome.. now that I have the Prevention and Precaution part right, I suppose I can post the Cure on my next post.. hehe..


Leave a Reply

