17
Jun
09

My Birthday!

Tomorrow (18 June) is my birthday, so there is another 1hr 15mins before it starts. So, a happy advanced B’day to me!

Like most people.. hehe.. I have an Official and Unofficial B’day. I had changed my B’day date on paper to 18th July (And no.. not for the sake of applying a premature Driving License. I didn’t know how to drive a car till I was 20). The reason is a long story which is best left unsaid.

SO, in a way, I guess I’m lucky cos’ I can celebrate my UNOFFICIAL B’day with close friends, and enjoy the OFFICIAL B’day with my colleagues at work. Here I am , enjoying the strike of midnight with special ones, and I will probably be doing the same next month with colleagues. I guess the real one matters.

SO, Its been a lotta yearsΒ  since I had been born, and a lotta experiences and lessons to learn. I guess I’m still doing fine, on the wrong side of twenty-five!! In fact, like they said, thirty is the new twenty!!

Lemme Explain…. Thirty is the new twenty: Cos’ at twenty, we were still either studying or looking for a job, and we were broke most of the time. Now, we are turning thirty and we are in control of our lives. We know what we want to be, and what we can achieve out of life. Our dreams at this point are more realisable!! Not like the PILOT I wanted to be when I was a kid, cos’ that really BOMBED!!

I had dreamt to join NDA, join the AirForce and be a pilot. I cleared the written twice, but got rejected in the SSB (Service Selection Board, for the uninitiated).. You guessed it!!.. twice!!.. so, I kinda gave up and took up Computers. Sucks right??! Tell me about it, I get the chills whenever I see a Sukhoi take a pass over Pune city, it doesn’t help when they have an air base close to the city, one of the few with a Sukhoi Squadron!!

Anyways, life is never as one imagines it to be. Nothing ever goes as planned. I had planned, If I had joined the AirForce, to take premature retirement and get a job as a Commercial Pilot, who, btw, get paid in plenty!! If you know what I mean!!

Whatever…. blah blah blah!!… See you at the next post!! Live has its own way of giving it to you!! If you know what I mean!!πŸ˜€


14 Responses to “My Birthday!”


  1. June 18, 2009 at 12:56 am

    Happy bithday black, have a wonderful blessed year head. Minus the PILOT you are doing pretty good for yourself….πŸ™‚

  2. June 18, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Happy Birthday! So how does it feel, turning thirty? Nothing different, right? Life surely has a different way of turning out than the way expected or dreamt of, but the trick is to be happy with what you’ve got, a tad difficult but not impossible.
    Have a wonderful unofficial birthday.

  3. 3 ruolngulworld
    June 19, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Hope you had a happy birthday. 18 June is also a special day for me – my son’s birthday.

  4. June 20, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Happy Belated Birthdayyyyy!!! Thirty is the new 16.πŸ˜‰

  5. June 20, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    And please explain to me how you are turning thirty???????
    πŸ™‚

  6. 6 NotGood
    June 20, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    @ Bee: Thanks.. The PILOT was a dream worth chasing, guess I was never meant to find the end of that rainbow… oh well…

    @Aduhi: Thanks for the wishes.. although I’m not 30 yet, but Im nearing it pretty fast.. One year at a time.. hehe..

    @Ruolngul: So I guess your son’s also an unique Geminian.. hehe.. We are a minority and we fast declining in numbers!!πŸ˜€

    @Kima: I’m not turning thirty.. just on the wrong side of twenty-five.. you misinterpret! Altho’ I will be turning 30 in the next ‘X’ years, where X = 30-(My age), and since I’m not 30 nor 25, you have 4 guesses! Thanks for the B’lated wishes tho’..

  7. June 20, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Exactly. Because you couldn’t possibly be older than meπŸ™‚ Your sis is older than me, but if you are 30, then that would even make you older than your elder sister!πŸ˜€

  8. June 20, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    Oops…. hre tlai ve hle mai! Mah se upat nuam kan ti tho teh ang che! Kan upa tawlh tawlh a, kan mawl tawlh tawlh an tih hi i awih em?

    Sukhoi manga hmuh nuam le!! Lol

  9. 9 luliana
    June 21, 2009 at 1:44 am

    Belated happy birthday!!!

    I am proud to announce that I am one of the very few people who actually know why you changed your birthday…hahaha

  10. 10 makima
    June 21, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    If you had added “More on that later” at the end of the 2nd paragraph you would’ve sounded just like Ted MosbyπŸ™‚

    Now I’m kinda gettin curious abt the 2nd paragraph. A treat to anyone who can continue…

    Unfulfilled dreams, unrequited love and all the “what ifs” of life… everyone seem to have a long list these days. Talking abt NDA, what abt the time you got into the NDA and got kicked out into the dark cold night, literally?πŸ™‚

    Again, happy belated birthday!

  11. 11 mesjay
    June 22, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Wishing you a Happy (belated) Unofficial Birthday and (advanced)Happy Official Birthday. So between the two is the right time to wish you, isn’t it?

  12. 12 NotGood
    June 26, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    Thank you all for the wishes.. As they say, Age is just a number and You are only as old as you think you are (Although sometimes, your body may not agree!)

    @Kima: Grow up.. seriously!!πŸ˜›

    @Vaiva: Tunlai khawvel ah hi chuan a mawl tawlh tawlh loh theih loh alawm… Kan tet lai ni leh phei se chuan a nuam ngawt ang, toys te a changkang tawh bawk si, Computer games lah a realistic bawk.. Mall-a kal pawhin Toys section-a hun hmang hnem ber rual ka la ni tlats. hehe..

    @Luliana: That is extremely sensitive Confidential information which should be treated with the secrecy it deserves..

    @Makima: At least I made it to the NDA, by hook or by crook. Right?? I think that incident deserves a post, but… MORE ON THAT LATER..

    @Mesjay: I think I should celebrate my Unofficial B’day till my Official Bday arrives. You’ve given me a great idea. hehe. And anytime between the two is exactly the right time to wish.. Interesting..

  13. June 27, 2009 at 1:07 am

    a week late, but hope you had a good one! or, have a good one next month. i think its always nice to have a backup birthday!

  14. 14 NotGood
    June 29, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    @fed: Thanks for the wishes and Yes, its nice to have a backup Bday. Its especially useful when you’re broke one month, cos’ you can always save to party the next month.. hehe.


Leave a Reply

