16
May
09

Good news

I finally landed my dream job in a dream company, and whatever I had done to achieve this, how long I waited didn’t really matter anymore, cos’ its just feels so good I can’t really believe that it has happened. Sometimes, when I get some good news, I get skeptical about it, cos’ I’ve counted my chickens once too many before they hatched, and I’ve paid for it over and over again.

Do you ever get the feeling that sometimes, when things go too friggin’ good, you’re more doubtful than happy? Thats me. I got the call from the company, yet I still couldn’t believe it. I was actually hoping to hear some catch, some bad news, some strings attached.. etc etc, cos’ frankly, thats how my whole life has been going pretty much, and this is just too frighteningly good to be true.

The interview process for this company starts with the HR calling you and fixing up a date for the Technical Interview. After which there’d be a one-on-one with the Operations Manager who would decide your fate. I had cleared the technical previously on Feb ’08, but was rejected by the Ops who thought I was too unexperienced since I had worked for only 6 months in my present company then. I was devastated that time, cos’ I thought getting through the technical was tough enough and the Ops would have some consideration, turns out I was wrong! My being a nervous-prwreck-when-confronted-with-a-life-deciding-interview didn’t really help.

So, I waited for another year and a few months and got the opportunity again. I cleared the technical interview again, in fact, I thought I did pretty well too. But I know I didn’t exactly dazzle the Operations Mgr, how can I when he asks me stuff like :

“What is the most common tree in Mizoram?”

 followed by

“How many such trees would there be in Mizoram?”

I managed to mumble something about

“..Maybe we can take a satellite photo and..”

“.. and what? Count the trees!?” *He smirks a little and I give a trying-to-act-normal smile back.

*nervous wriggling on the chair, trying to think hard and fast, but DAMMIT, why did I watch Balboa last night, keeps coming up in my way of thought..

“.. No, sir, we can calculate the area, then maybe based on the density of one hectare..”

*I dont even know whats the area of a Hectare, damn, what if thats his next question.. more wriggling…

“If you are selected, what would prompt you to leave our Company?”

*HEY, I was still calculating the area of a Hectare, DAMMIT!.. Winner-of-wriggling-contest-heavy wriggling.. Umm… “We need a medic!!”

Well, it wasn’t that dramatic, but I just like to try my hand at drama, guess I sucked! But those were some of the exact questions he asked, and exactly in that order. Maybe he was trying to get your train of thoughts off-track, or maybe DERAIL your train of thought.. (Thats a pretty nice way of putting it..hmm)

Anyways, come monday and I will put down my papers and take a break for 10+ days before I join the new company. I just wanna feel jobless, careless, tension-less etc etc for a few days and just take a time off for myself… READ: party, party, party, party, party, party, party!! And did I mention.. PARTY!!

Thank you God! I had started to forget You, but You never did! I am truly blessed!

Life’s Good!


21 Responses to “Good news”


  1. May 16, 2009 at 2:44 am

    Company? Congratulation.

  2. 2 gkhiangte
    May 16, 2009 at 2:54 am

    congratulations! my god i hate interviews. you never know the correct answers! but in this case i guess you did.. have fun partying and don’t forget your maker.
    just curious, is your new job in the present city you are staying?

  3. 3 NotGood
    May 16, 2009 at 3:15 am

    @codeAries: I didn’t want to mention the name of the company in the post cos’ I hate blowing my own trumpet. Buit what the HELL! I’m so excited I don’t really even care.. Im joining Symantec as a Tech Analyst providing support for one of their Products (http://www.symantec.com/business/endpoint-protection). Its a multi-platform Server Support and there is so much scope for learning.. I just can’t wait!! (Now tell me, did I go overboard a bit?)

  4. May 16, 2009 at 3:25 am

    Not at all… Great, Symantec. Mizo nih i ti nuam.

  5. 5 NotGood
    May 16, 2009 at 3:31 am

    @G: Thanks kiddo.. and Yes, my new job is in the city, conveniently 10 mins from where I live. (My old company was 15 mins the other way). I guess I really, really got lucky this time.. hehe (*there I go again..hmm..)

  6. 6 NotGood
    May 16, 2009 at 4:16 am

    @codeAries: Thanks again.. I forgot to welcome you to the blog, first-timers get a free coupon to browse the internet unlimitedly at their own expense.. hehe.. Come back again, there’s more boring stuff to read here other than my life-story..🙂

  7. 7 ruolngulworld
    May 16, 2009 at 4:39 am

    if you can read this in between the party party party…., congratulations, man. all the best. now i know where to go if i ever need help with symantec and their (now your) products/softwares🙂

  8. May 16, 2009 at 10:11 am

    That is definitely great news. Congratulations! Landing your dream job in your dream company, what more could a person want? All the best for all your future endeavours (sounds like a relieving letter huh??)… go and dazzle everyone @ Symantec.

  9. May 16, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Hey!!! thats a very gud news (minus the ‘frigin’ interview…hehehe) … Congrats!!! And gud luck with the new company

  10. May 16, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Dream job, dream company. Sounds like a dream come true. Congratulations!

  11. 11 NotGood
    May 16, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Thanks Y’all.. I know its a big break for me and I’m so excited. With the recession and everything, its so hard to find a good employer, cos’ hardly anyone is hiring.. Well, there are some companies who are sacking the tenured employees and hiring new ones cos’ they figured that with the salary they pay the old emploees, they can hire at least 2 more new ones and pay them lesser. It does get dirty in the Corporate world, but I guess it’s my world now..
    Sometimes, you gotta get down in the dirt and brawl with the others, cos’ if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em!! (Not the most convincing dialogue, I know..)

    A big welcome to Diary, I guess its your first time here, hope its not your last.. Please come back.. I’ll even throw in a smiley just for you😀

  12. May 17, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    good good! job you want at a company you like is *always brill.

    and what *is the most common tre in mizoram?

  13. 13 NotGood
    May 17, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    @fed: Thank you.. Now, I think I can somewhat say that I have gained stability in my career.. whew.. and about the most common tree, after a frantic 2-second mind search for tree names, FIR was the best one I came up with..😀

  14. 14 makima
    May 17, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    come down to b’lore… you can give us all a treat! we could go night trekking too

  15. 15 NotGood
    May 17, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    @makima: We’d all like that, would we?😀

  16. 16 luliana
    May 18, 2009 at 1:57 am

    How about HNAHKHAR kung?!!

    Congrats!! Am eagerly waiting for christmas again😛

  17. 17 NotGood
    May 18, 2009 at 2:38 am

    @Luliana: Should’ve said “Zawngtrah kung”!! hehe.. a buai ve nak ang.. lolzz.. Can’t wait for XMas too, but I might have a reason to get back home a month or two before that.. if you know what I mean,😉 and if I do that, won’t be home for XMas😦

  18. May 18, 2009 at 8:09 am

    Oye I just saw this. Congratulations! Btw yesterday I asked your sis’ friend BZi your real name. Now I know🙂

  19. 19 NotGood
    May 18, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    @Call: Well, that was extremely revealing, without actually being vulgar.. lolzz.. Say hi to BZ, she could probably tell you my chat-nick too, if she hasn’t done that already.. Damn you, water..😀

  20. May 18, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    “Thank you God! I had started to forget You, but You never did”…bullseye
    SO u got a job as wine-taster, KFC official taster or Thomas Cook official vacation spots tester?

    The interview bit was funny & nerve-wrecking even for readers.
    BTW about the most common tree bit, u shud have said We called it zawngtah kung, native to Mizoram and the biological name is Zaturas ziahngais. There are exactly 359866 according to the last Forest Dept survey in 2005…..blah3

  21. 21 NotGood
    May 18, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    @Opa: “Zaturas ziahngais”.. I heh hmel, to lovingly give it a Biological name, how ever remote the possibility of it being remotely close to the real name is.. :p
    My new job would require me to sit in front of a computer screen and do stuff on it, which is pretty similar to what I had been doing in my old job, the only difference is, they have a Dental Plan! hehe..


Leave a Reply

