24
Apr
09

The “Lord of the Rings” Marathon

So last weekend, I had a lonely “Lord of the Rings” Marathon, taking a time-out to pamper myself and relax. I haven’t really ever watched any of the parts from the start to the end, just a few interesting parts which really didn’t make any sense when out together.

I had read the book when the movie was in production, but abandoned it after “The Two Towers” cos’ there were too many places and characters to remember, let alone the plotting and scheming. I decided to rather wait for the trilogy to release. It’s much easier when you have recognisable faces to associate the names with.

To bring a novel as epic and immensely complex to life in motion pictures is indeed as huge as the story itself. I watched each scene carefully trying to find some bloopers and visual screw-ups but was left highly impressed by the minute attention to detail paid by the crew and cast. This proves that Bollywood has still a long way to go when it comes to creating Magic on-screen.

There were, although, a few things I noticed in the movie which, earlier, weren’t really that prominent to me:

The first one was that there was way too much body contact (And lingering, silent yet comfortable eye contact) between the Hobbits, espcially Frodo and Samwise. We get it, they were the best of friends, of BFF (For the uninitiated, it means Best Friends Forever), but that does not qualify them to hug and shed a tear at every opportunity they get. I don’t think Mr. Tolkien intended their relation to be as seemingly gay as Peter Jackson depicted it, or maybe he was just trying to appeal to the obvious masses for higher ratings… well, I guess its all business..

The second was the similarity between it and the Harry Potter series. I think JK Rowling drew inspiration from the characters in LOTR. There’s the obvious Gandalf the Grey and Prof. Dumbledore, old, long locks of white hair and beard, Master Wizards fighting on the good side, et al.. There’s the eerie resemblance of the Dementors with the nine Nazgûl, the dark riders who were always after Frodo’s ass pretty much the whole movie.

Well, the ending was great, but the war and the battles were incredibly lifelike and totally engrossing. I think it was one of the best ones I’ve seen so far, others in my favorites list are those in Braveheart, The Patriot and Gladiator, to name a few.. The sceneries in the movie were dreamy and fantasy-like, it fits perfectly with the characters and the scenes. I think I will be going for another Marathon pretty soon, it sure beats a marathon of Thriller Serials, like 24, Prison break, etc.. I mean, at least, trilogies have a beginning and ending.. and something in between too.. hehe..


2 Responses to “The “Lord of the Rings” Marathon”


  1. 1 lal
    April 25, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    i think i know you.
    hehe

  2. 2 NotGood
    April 28, 2009 at 2:28 am

    I don’t think you do..
    hehe


Leave a Reply

