31
Mar
09

Obsessions with reflections

Since childhood, I’ve had this fascination/inquisitiveness for mirrors, partly from something which I read long back. It was about a guy entering into another world through his mirror, where things are kinda opposite (Your left is right and vice-versa!). The cops were bad and the bad guys helped him when he got in trouble. At that age, I think it kinda stuck in my mind that this could be as real as time-travel and aliens (Which still exists in my fantasies! Its hard growing up, if my body is mature, at least, leave my mind alone, that’s all I have left!).

Sometimes, I would stare at my reflection hoping it would do something I didn’t. I’d turn my back and suddenly turn around hoping my opposite half wouldn’t do the same. Other times, I would stare at it with my face hardly an inch away and distort my face real fast to see if my reflection was as facially agile. I really enjoy the lonely elevator rides at the office, cos’ there’s this huge life-sized mirror and there I’d be, prancing around till the next floor, and when the door opens, I’d be guiltlessly staring upwards and whistling a tune while my unsuspecting colleagues enter and leave with a ‘HI-BYE’ without any idea of what had conspired. I know its kinda lame (possibly queer) coming from a guy who’s lived more than a quarter of a decade, but everyones allowed their eccentricity (behind closed doors), right?


4 Responses to “Obsessions with reflections”


  1. 1 makima
    April 4, 2009 at 1:53 am

    i’ve been thinking about mirrors too
    have you ever wondered how left is right and right is left in your reflection, yet your head stays on top? i’ve read an article detailing the scientific reason behind this (of which i remember nothing) but i havent really grasped it yet.

    and what image would you get if you place two perfectly aligned, perfectly reflective mirrors facing each other? a picture of perfectly pure light maybe. a result of curiosity aroused by visits to hair cutting salons (once upon a time) and the… hmm, that glass cleaning spray with a picture of a girl holding a bottle of a glass cleaning spray which in turn had a picture of a girl holding a bottle of a glass cleaning spray which in turn had a picture of in turn had a picture of a girl holding a bottle of a glass cleaning spray which in turn had a picture of something you could not see. my bro would ask me “how do you think this started?” and we used to be awfully confused

  2. 2 Jerusha
    April 4, 2009 at 11:25 am

    OMG you’re so bizarre! The mirror and all reflections are be treated with the utmost caution! LOL I know this is not supposed to be funny but because it just makes me think of my sister and her mirror-phobia, I can’t help but laugh aloud. She’d think you’re insane. And it also made me think of this – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOTumbVuBIM creepy as hell..me, if my reflection didn’t do something I was doing, that mirror would never stay intact for more than a few seconds.

  3. 3 NotGood
    April 4, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    @ Makima: I’ve been fascinated exactly by what you mean.. When you place 2 mirrors facing each other, and you kinda peek into one, you see a really long and creepy tunnel of mirrors reflecting mirrors. As a kid, I always wondered what it would be like to take a walk in there, what I might find.. hey.. thats a good start for a fairy tale story..🙂

  4. 4 NotGood
    April 4, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    @Jerusha: OK.. THAT was extremely creepy and is definitely on the top 5 of my worst nightmares list.. the others include “Pangang sum 6” and “Ramhuai Pitar-Naupang” etc.. hehe.. The thing in the video is exactly what I reluctantly and fearfully hope (or not) to experience when I get on with my antics in front of a mirror… Its like hiding your face with open palms when watching a horror movie, you’re scared shitless, but still wanna see whats happening..😀


Leave a Reply

