25
Mar
09

Ranting Rhymes

The color of fear and danger

The color of hate and anger

A mixture that is the Blackest Red

The pain and agony I’ve bled.

 

We let ourselves be blown away

We let ourselves be led astray

We let ourselves to heed their cries

We let ourselves believe their lies

We heard and saw whats their consensus

Yet cannot/would not rely on our senses

Pity the fool who daily toils

Pity the fool who self employs

Pity the fool who believes in change

Pity, for justice, he will find it strange

 

We’ve watched as our home had been laid to waste

We’ve watched as the sins seduced our city in haste

How long will it be ‘fore its too late

How long will it be ‘fore it fills our plate

How long will it take for us to realise

How long before our hopes face a sad demise

We’ve known all along what is to conspire

Yet we let it happen without startin’ a fire

We’d known all along they would screw us over

Yet we let them abuse their God-given power

 

When ever will the Man admit he was wrong

When ever will he repent and be strong

When ever will he put himself below others

When ever will he realise we are all but brothers

A man is he who blames himself

For acts he is duly accounted for

A man is he who fights for another self

And take a fall for what he knows is right

We need to stop the mockery, its strange

We belittle them who try to bring about change

 

Are we so numbed by the fate we face

Are we so callous about the future of our race

Are we so blind we can’t penetrate the facade

That we be but Zombies, driven by the mass

Too many a brave had passed away

So we can call it our home today

Yet more and more youths are gone each day

Their voices never heard, what they had to say

 

We can’t put the blame on what we hate

We can’t let a sin decide our fate

We need to reflect and look deep within

To accept that we all are a part of the sin

My learned friends, lets all head home

To the place we began, the place we love

Let’s strive to make it better than ever

For our kids and theirs to be proud of forever

They say “Two heads are better than one”

But I say “One head is better than none”

We CAN make a change, we’ve been dying for it

Cos’ if we don’t make a try, then we ain’t worth %^&*!


8 Responses to “Ranting Rhymes”


  1. March 26, 2009 at 12:23 am

    You gave me a fit of joy and jealousy all in one after checking out your latest installment of a MONUMENTAL exhibition of rhyme. I was all set to post my latest installment of a lengthy ballad ‘Rapture Forgotten’ but I think I’d work on it some more… because this is great! And I see you’ve stuck to the theme of ‘enlightenment’, ‘social reform’ etc. Keep going with it, it carries a good message much appreciated by an aspiring social scientist like yours truly.

  2. 2 NotGood
    March 26, 2009 at 4:55 am

    To quote Jay-Z “Thank you, Thank you, You’re far too kind”, If only you could see my grin right now, you’d be scared.. hehe.. I’m starting to like rhyming, and I guess I’m kinda addicted to it right now. BTW, I’m much awaiting “Rapture Forgotten”, especially with the EXTRA effort.. and “Social Scientist”?? Nice title.. gotta get me one of those..😀

  3. March 26, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Here’s what: I kept thinking about this poem last night, with it’s dark theme. So I decided I could write one based on a nightmare I used to have in Class XI. I’ve posted it up on my blog… Rapture watsit (?) will have to wait. See if you like it – it was technically inspired by your post!

  4. 4 NotGood
    March 27, 2009 at 9:33 am

    A poem “technically” inspired by my post.. hmm.. this I gotta see.. I guess I dont get much of those.. anyways, I’m still waiting for the Rapture thing.. I like the sound of it.. I think its about time I start rhyming happier thoughts and dreams instead, but sometimes, the dark is such a faithful and compassionate companion..🙂

  5. 5 philo
    March 27, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Hey, am not a man of the verses but yours do look good. Will be back again.

  6. 6 NotGood
    March 28, 2009 at 3:16 am

    Thanks for stopping by and do visit again, and leave a comment which is a bit more than 2 sentences.. hehe.. My blog isnt just about verses, so keep dropping in.. cheers!

  7. March 28, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    I liked it, mahse a chhan ka sawi lovang

  8. 8 NotGood
    March 29, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    Glad you liked it, mahse a chhan sawi zel ah kan ti..🙂 Thanks for dropping by and come visit again..


Leave a Reply

