12
Mar
09

Strings of thought

Have you ever had strings of thought, while lazing on your bed on a lazy afternoon, during a boring meeting or whenever and wherever? I do.. a lot. Its like, you think about one subject, linking it, logically or not, to another and before you know it, you are totally off course from the first idea you thought up of.

For example, I was having one of my sleepless nights and all I could do was stare at the ceiling. I had to get up early so I didn’t want to leave the comfort of my bed lest I be more awake. So, I started wondering and pondering on my thoughts, and it goes something like this…:

Dark ceiling… hmm… kinda looks black.. like black Sunday.. what should I do this Sunday? Wash clothes, clean the flat? I think I should go shopping.. I need to buy a game.. which one?? hmm.. the new Gears of War is out.. War in the Middle East.. terrorism.. America.. KFC!! I’d definitely get some on Sunday.. Its so hot, wonder when it’s gonna rain.. wonder how long I’ve been awake?? 25 mins!! think I should get up.. naah.. Need to get up early.. wonder If I should take a bath now or when I get up? or not at all.. haha.. good one.. (*I smile at myself!).. stop smiling to yourself, dumbass.. jackass.. I wonder if Johnny Knoxville is coming out with the next installment..money..  I need to start investing in something.. gotta save some tax.. (*looking at the clock).. 35 mins!! 10 mins passed already?? Am I wasting or saving time right now trying to sleep?? let me close my eyes.. Its dark again, but I can see something floating ahead.. why do these spots keep moving in front of my eyes.. that one looks like a head.. ahead.. (*smile again).. Now I’m smiling with my eyes closed.. to myself!! What a freak!! I need beer.. I need a sip at least.. else I can’t sleep.. I need…Zzzzzz….

The next morning, I wouldn’t remember the last thing I thought about, but probably the first. And this does not just happen at night. Sometimes, while talking to someone, if the topic of discussion is boring enough, I’d be looking at him and yet mentally be playing with my strings of thought. Is this an inability to multitask, or an addiction to it? Cos’ I pride myself in being able to perform more than 2 tasks at one time, and no, reading the morning paper in the loo isn’t exactly what I mean. I wonder if this is ADD or Attention Deficit Disorder? A.D.D.. hehe.. name of the band in The Rocker starring Whatzisface from The Office… Funny movie, great music.. kinda like School of Rock, but nobody beats Jack Black and Ben Stiller in comedy.. Tropic thunder wasn’t their best one tho’.. I wonder if Robert Downey did it out of respect? When is Iron Man2 coming out? I was unsatisfied with the first part, I wanted more.. Terminator Salvation is releasing this year, so is Transformers 2 and Watchmen.. Hope they live up to my expectations.. Wonder how many lines more would I have to type on this post.. I kinda think it is long enough… hmm.. I wonder…


4 Responses to “Strings of thought”


  1. March 12, 2009 at 9:54 am

    …wonderful post, not your everyday regular blog post…I need to update my blog and I have a couple of ideas in my head but can’t decide which one..speaking of which I didnt sleep properly the last two nights and now I’ve got a terrible headache…hey I just remembered have to buy some Saridon, my weapon against headaches…but then again I shouldnt pop pills everytime I get a slight headache…isnt that how addiction begins…but addicted to Saridon..what a joke..

    Seriously, I think it happens to everyone all the time, this disconnected train of thought striking us at the most inappropriate moments. And it will strike when you most need to be serious but when you are bored to death.

  2. 2 NotGood
    March 12, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    @Aduhi: Thanks.. I was thinking about a post the other day and nothing struck my mind which kinda wandered off on its own thoughts.. so I thought..what the hell, somethings is better than nothing.. hehe.. I’m glad its not just me, cos’ I couldn’t find any reference to it on Google (Google is the all-knowing!).. Now I can go on wondering and pondering guiltlessly..🙂

  3. 3 Calliopia
    March 19, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    There’s a term for this sort of thing in modern literature called the “stream of consciousness”. Used by novelists like Virginia Woolf and James Joyce. It was supposed to be totally realistic and lifelike, an effect 20th c literateurs wanted to achieve. But there’s only so much unconnected, unrelated dialogue and descriptions a reader can take so it wasn’t exactly found to be very practical, and has since been relegated to another dusty shelf of early 20th c literary experimentation.

  4. 4 NotGood
    March 20, 2009 at 7:31 am

    @Calli: That’s deep, sis. I read the Wikipedia entry on “stream of consciousness” and I didn’t get a thing.. hehe.. I think this phenomenon is similar to what we call “Daydreaming”, like being physically there but mentaly elsewhere, when your mind wanders off to anywhere but here..🙂


Leave a Reply

