25
Feb
09

What if..

What if there were no borders
Existing between the lands
What if there were no fences
The world a vast expanse

What if there were no faith
No religion to seperate
What if we are indeed
Alone to face the world

What if there were no races
No alien to profile
What if there were no tongues
All speech be just the same

What if there were no ties
No bonds to our relations
What if we have no one
But us to help ourselves

What if we’d never feel
Emotions deep within
What if our hearts are cold
And never feel a thing

Would we still call us humans
If all of these were true
Would we stop all the fighting
Cos’ we’d be just like you.


3 Responses to “What if..”


  1. 1 Calliopia
    February 25, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    I was complaining to an old friend last year about how in childhood, we never notice differences in cultures and customs and simply relate to other people on a simple one on one basis. Like when I was a kid, my Malaysian friend and I would just get on together and talk about ordinary things etc. When we met after 20 years or so, she asked me all kinds of things like the kind of food we ate in Mizoram etc, things that made me feel sort of alien.

    My complainant gave me an answer that was sth like your poem here. If we were all the same, and every culture was like another, there wouldn’t be anything new to learn and diversity is what keeps us all united. Two sides to a coin, two sides to an issue, I suppose.

  2. 2 ruolngulworld
    February 25, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    Hey, Good poem, NotGood.🙂
    The kind of life and world you describe is really scary. I totally agree with J – without diversity life would be so boring and aimless.

  3. 3 NotGood
    February 26, 2009 at 4:40 am

    @ Calliopia: I think thats whats beautiful about being kids, we were innocent without a care in the world. As long as we had good company, we need nothing else..
    “..diversity is what keeps us all united..” I think Unity in Diversity is just a myth and that Similarity unites us more strongly..

    Thanks @ Ruolngul: I guess I dwell too much on fantasy and imaginary worlds in my poems.. Guess I’ll have to cook up some happy stuff.. hmm..🙂


Leave a Reply

