20
Jan
09

Lesser of two evils !

I had posted this on misual.com with the same header, but since it is something close to my heart (and liver), I can never say enough. I had lost a dear friend to drug abuse last year, and although we had grown apart since high school (I left for boarding while in 8th std) losing him was still a real shock. It’s never easy to lose anyone dear, and one can never really get used to it, no matter how many have departed. Ironically, I lost an uncle too last year, and although it was due to heart attack, it was somewhat brought on by alcohol addiction.

So, there you have it! I lost two people who are close to me, to drugs and alcohol, yet why am i still not adamant and supportive on the ban on both? Because they CANNOT be banned. Alcohol is available in Mizoram for those who want it, maybe at a higher price, but it’s there. We’ve bought it after 3am, more than once. It’s not a big deal. Drugs is even easier to smuggle. With the lame detection procedures and checking posts we have at our borders, we would like to think that we have suppressed the supply. The supply of drugs into our state hasn’t decreased much in a decade, if not increased. All that the ban on narcotics is doing is making the dealers richer and tempt more into the trade. Its also drives the users to the point of desperation for money just to get their daily fix. With the recent introduction and legalisation of indigenous “Grape wine” from rural Mizoram, I would like to think that it diverts the curiosity of our young away from drugs and hopefully for the better.

The first time I got drunk was when we went for a class trip. A Sardar, a Rajput, a Naga and me, a Mizo, bought ourselves from a wine store two pints and a large can of Strohs (I wonder why we don’t get that brand anymore). It was broad daylight and we made our way into an under-construction building. We had a pretty good time. The point I wanna make here is that we wanted the experience, we were young and adventurous afterall, like everyone else. It’s just general human nature, I don’t think any of us ever regretted that. We didn’t get addicted to it. and we didn’t think of doing it again, until a year later. It wasn’t really a priority at the time. It was all just for fun.

The debate will go on and more will die to drugs or alcohol, and we will still keep living on. No one will raise their voice against it. Because to condemn the government in Mizoram is to condemn the Church. Politicians hide behind the facade of being religious, and deliver impressive sermons at the altar, yet behind closed doors, they plot and scheme to obtain more wealth at the cost of the state. A state which, after decades of being one, has failed miserably to provide employment for the youths. A state which receives rain for more than half the year, yet cannot harvest it enough to supply water even for its capital, where the less fortunate have to stand in line on cold winter mornings to collect water for the day at ponds made by the locals. A state which is abound in perennial rivers flowing and yet cannot use the resource to provide electricity to the masses.

Its amazing that after all these years, we cannot generate enough revenue to support ourselves, and rather rely on the Central government to fund our needs. Peace Bonus?? Are we taking handouts now? There may be Peace on the surface, but beneath is turmoil and chaos. The people of Mizoram need hope, but we are looking for it in all the wrong places. The competition is filthy and vulgar, evident in the Chiahpuam case. Why would anyone let themselves believe that it was legal? And just because they heard some bullshit story about how a certain Mr.X profited from it with impressive results? Are we too dumb to realise the consequences had it been illegal, or are we blinded by the fact that we just cannot see our neighbours “get rich quick”, irrespective of the ways and means, that we let ourselves be taken by the flow of current.

I love Mizoram, I love my people, but its disturbing to see public morals crashing down all around. Sometimes, the pride in being the state with the highest literacy rate, or 99.99% Christians doesn’t really matter as long as we have skeletons in our closets. We need to be who we are and stay true. I am a Mizo, I eat pork, beef and anything that walks. I am a chinky, I have thick hair, and love life although I may not have a long life expectancy. I love the mountains and need my own space. I love music and although I may not be a devout Christian, I consider myself religious and spiritual. And most of all, I love relationships.

P.S: I might have drifted away from the main topic, but I was overwhelmed by a plethora of thoughts. More to come…


4 Responses to “Lesser of two evils !”


  1. January 20, 2009 at 4:02 am

    “I am a Mizo, I eat pork, beef and anything that walks.”

    Lolz… A Naga (Tangkhul to be specific) friend told me that Mizos have often accused them of eating anything that moves… spot the difference – yours is anything that walks…

    I will comment others later.

  2. 2 blackestred
    January 20, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Well, apart from the “anything that walks..”, there’s “anything that crawls, slithers and simply MOVES!” and those are something I wouldn’t want to get caught dead eating!

    BTW, thanks for taking the time to read my posts. My blog is in its infancy and anything anybody posts is nothing short of sincere encouragement.

  3. January 21, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Nice post! really enjoyed reading your take on issues that I have thought about myself. I spent more than a year in south Mizoram surveying the forests there for wildlife (I’m a wildlife biologist) and the double standards of alcohol consumption in Miz hit me quite starkly. Although its banned, the youth organisations seem more worried about enforcing the ban than the government. I found more drunkards in Mizoram than in most parts of India, with a fantastic network of bootleg alcohol, supported ably by our ‘sainik bhai’. I especially liked how you drifted off and made the post even more interesting. You are one of the few people to have acknowledged the ‘Peace bonus’ and ‘handouts from the centre’. That was brutally honest and good stuff! Keep it up🙂

  4. 4 blackestred
    January 21, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    @Dawgmatix : Thank you for your insights. I just flipped through your blog, and in your post “Finding Maraland”, you’d be surprised to know how many kilometres of the rural roads you may have treaded are Metalled (Black topped, tarred.etc) officially on paper, yet in reality, are barely visible in Rainy season. I’ve travelled to a couple of small villages surrounding the TAWI sanctuary, we sometimes had to wait for herds of wild bulls to pass us one by one cos there was no space.


Leave a Reply

